the world academy of sciences for the advancement of science in developing countries


The C.N.R. Rao Prize for Scientific Research
The prize, named after TWAS Founding Fellow and former president C.N.R. Rao, carries a cash award of USD5,000 generously provided by Professor Rao. It is designed to honour TWAS Fellows from the developing world, especially scientists from the world's scientifically lagging and Least Developed Countries (LDCs), who have made significant contributions to global science.
Deadline Extended
15 June 2016
Partner Organizations
Eligible Nominees
Science- and technology-lagging countries
Age limit

Potential candidates:

TWAS Fellows from the world's scientifically and technologically lagging countries, who have made significant contributions to global science.

For a complete list of TWAS Fellows, please visit:

For a list of the 81 ST-lagging countries, please visit:


TWAS officers review the nominations and propose a winner for approval by Prof. C.N.R. Rao.

Winners of the C.N.R. Rao Prize for Scientific Research

2015 – Bishal Nath Upreti, Nepal

2014 – Muntaser Eltayeb Ibrahim, Sudan

2013 – Firdausi Qadri, Bangladesh

2012 – Wendimagegn Mammo Deneke, Ethiopia

2009 – Akissa Bahri, Ghana/Tunisia

2008 – Maurice Tchuente, Cameroon

2006 – Berhanu M. Abegaz, Ethiopia and Philippe Rasoanaivo, Madagascar

Application doc(s): 
File nf_cnrraoprize.docx25.75 KB
Contact email: 
This website does not use profiling cookies, but only first and third party technical cookies, including cookies from social media plugins.
To learn more about our cookie policy or to change your cookie settings, click here.
By using this website and clicking “accept”, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.