TWAS-C.N.R. Rao Award for Scientific Research
The award, named after TWAS Founding Fellow and former president C.N.R. Rao, carries a cash award of USD5,000 generously provided by Professor Rao. It is designed to honour TWAS Fellows from the Least Developed Countries (LDCs), who have made significant contributions to global science.
The call is closed
Partner Organizations
Eligible Nominees from
Any country
Age limit

Potential candidates:

TWAS Fellows from the Least Developed Countriest (LDCs), who have made significant contributions to global science.

For a complete list of TWAS Fellows, please visit: http://twas.org/network/members

For a list of the LDCs, please visit: Least Developed Countries (LDCs)


TWAS officers review the nominations and propose a winner for approval by Prof. C.N.R. Rao.

Previous winners of the TWAS - C.N.R. Rao Prize for Scientific Research

2020 –  Raoelina Andriambololona, Madagascar, for his development of peaceful uses of nuclear sciences and technologies both in Madagascar and Africa and his pioneering actions in nanotechnologies in Madagascar.

2019 –  Evelyne Isaack Mbede, Tanzania

2018 – Yeya Tiemoko Touré, Mali

2017 – Kalulu Taba, Congo Dem. Rep.

2016 – Mahouton Norbert Hounkonnou, Benin

2015 – Bishal Nath Upreti, Nepal

2014 – Muntaser Eltayeb Ibrahim, Sudan

2013 – Firdausi Qadri, Bangladesh

2012 – Wendimagegn Mammo Deneke, Ethiopia

2009 – Akissa Bahri, Ghana/Tunisia

2008 – Maurice Tchuente, Cameroon

2006 – Berhanu M. Abegaz, Ethiopia and Philippe Rasoanaivo, Madagascar

Contact email: 
This website does not use profiling cookies, but only first and third party technical cookies, including cookies from social media plugins.
To learn more about our cookie policy or to change your cookie settings, click here.
By using this website and clicking “accept”, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.