## PROFESSOR M. M. SHARMA

B. Chem. Eng., M.Sc. (Tech) (Bombay), Ph. D. (Cambridge), D.Sc.(h.c.) (I.I.T., Bombay; Delhi; Kharagpur; B.H.U.; Roorkee) (Calcutta) (Kanpur) (Bundelkhand) (Lucknow) (ICT, Mumbai) (h.c.), LL.D. (Mumbai) (h.c.), FREng, FRS, FNA, FASc, FNASc, FTWAS, C Chem, FRIC (U.K.), C. Eng., FICHE (U.K.), FIICHE, FICS, FBRS

Address: 2/3 Jaswant Baug (Runwal Park), Behind Akbarallys, Chembur Naka, Mumbai-400 071 (Ph. 2529 1539; 2529 6876) Email: profimmsharma@gmail.com

Emeritus Professor of Eminence, Institute of Chemical Technology, Mumbai (Deemed University) (2003-)

Kothari Research Professor, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (2006-)

Member, Scientific Advisory Council to the Prime Minister (2006-2009; 2009-2014)

Chairman, Board of Governors, IIT, Madras (June, 2011-May, 2014)

President, IACS, Kolkatta; Chairman Governing Council

[Former Professor of Chemical Engineering (1964-97) and Director (1989-97), Institute of Chemical Technology (Autonomous), Now Institute of Chemical Technology (ICT)-A Deemed University, Matunga, Mumbai- 400 019]

## AWARDS / HONOURS

PADMA BHUSHAN (1987); PADMA VIBHUSHAN (2001) by President of India

S. S. Bhatnagar Prize in Engineering Sciences (1973)

Fellow, Indian Academy of Sciences (1974)

Fellow, Indian National Science Academy (INSA) (1976), (VP: 1987-88; President: 1989-90); Vishwakarma Medal (1985); Meghnad Saha Medal (1994); Sir J. C. Bose Memorial Lecture (1994); Medal for Promotion and Service to Science (2008)

Fellow, The Royal Society, London (1990); Leverhulme Medal (1996)

Fellow, Third World Academy of Sciences (1990); TWAS medal Lecture in Engineering Sciences and Technologies (1997)

**International Fellow, The Royal Academy of Engineering (2005)** 

Foreign Fellow, U.S. National Academy of Engineering (2006)

Honorary Fellow, National Academy of Sciences (1988); Prof. N. R. Dhar Memorial Lecture Award (1999)

Director, Central Board of Directors, Reserve Bank of India (July 2006-Sep 2011)

Moulton Medal of Institution of Chemical Engineers, UK (1971, 1977)

SIES Sri Chandrasekarendra Saraswati National Eminence Award, Science & Technology (2008)

FICCI Award in Science and Technology, Engineering and Technology (1981)

Best Teacher Award, Government of Maharashtra (1984); Om Prakash Bhasin Award, Engineering (1985)

Danckwerts Memorial Lecture, Chemical Engineering Science/ Institute of Chemical Engineers, U. K. (1987)

P.C. Ray Lecture (1998); Hon. Member (1997); Honoured as an Individual Technologist 1990, Life Time Achievement Award (2011), Indian Chemical Manufacturers Association (now Indian Chemical Council),

Shreve Distinguished Visiting Professor, Purdue University, USA (1989)

Jawaharlal Nehru Lecture, (1989); P.C. Ray Memorial Award (1995); Platinum Jubilee lecture, Chemistry (1995); Shatabdi Puraskar, Engineering and Technology (1999); Millennium Award (2003): Indian Science Congress Association

H.K. Firodia Award for Excellence in Science and Technology (1999)

Shri Hari Om Ashram Prerit Dr. Vikram Sarabhai Senior Scientist Award, 2010, Physical Research Laboratory, Ahmadabad G.M. Modi Science Award, Modi Foundation (1991)

Life Time Contribution Award in Engineering (2001); Silver Jubilee lecture (2012), India National Academy of Engineering Life Time Achievements Award, Dr. B.P. Godrej- I.I.Ch.E. (2002); Dhirubhai Ambani Oration; I.I.Ch.E. (2004): Diamond Jubilee Award (2007)

Life Time Achievement Gold Medal, Chemical Research Society of India (2003)

Life Time Achievement Award, Indian Chemical Society (2004); Mid Day (2005)

Honorary Member, Perfumery and Flavours Association of India (1995); Indian Speciality Chemicals Manufacturers Association (1994); Honorary Fellow, Indian Chemical Society (1997); Honorary Fellow, Indian Plastics Institute (2003); Honorary Fellow, Indian Association for Cultivation of Sciences, Kolkatta (2005); Honorary Fellow, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore (2004)

University of Calcutta, P. C. Ray Medal (2010)

UDCT Golden Jubilee Distinguished Fellow (1984), UDCT Diamond (1994); UDCT Alumni Association Distinguished Alumnus Award (1990); Institute of Chemical Technology (Deemed Uni.) Platinum Award (2009); Super Star (2012)

Lakshmipat Singhania National Leadership Award, I.I.M., Lucknow, Science & Technology (2011)

Academy Professorship of CSIR Academy (AcSIR) 2013, Indian Planetory Society, Balvantbhai Parekh Gold medal (2014), Distinguished Academician Award, I.I.T. PATNA (2014)

Editor, Chemical Engineering Science, UK (1975-1986); Associate Editor, Chemical Engineering Research and Design, UK (1974-1986); Member, International Advisory Board, Canadian J. of Chemical Engineering (1989-1993); Member, International Advisory Board, Reactive and Functional Polymers (1995- 2006); Editorial Board, Separation and Purification Technology (1997-1999); Editorial Board, Green Chemistry (1999-2000); Member, Editorial Board, Clean Technologies and Environmental Policy (2002- 2004)

Published 250 research papers in Chemical Engineering Science; Industrial and Engineering Chemistry Research; Chemical Engineering Research and Design; Canadian Journal of Chemical Engineering; Reactive and Functional Polymers, etc.

Supervised 71 Doctoral Thesis and 35 M. Chem. Eng. / M. Sc. (Tech.) Thesis; Active Consultant to Industry since 1964

**Book Published**: "Heterogeneous Reactions: Analysis, Examples and Reactor Design", Volumes I and II, Wiley-Interscience, USA, 1984 (with L. K. Doraiswamy)

Fine Chemicals: Technology and Engineering, Elsevier, The Netherlands, 2001 (with J. A. Moulijn, A. Cybuluski and R. A. Sheldon)

Also contributed several chapters in renowned books