Brief Curriculum Vitae – Helena Judith Nussenzveig Lopes

General Information

Address: Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro (UFRJ)

Instituto de Matemática

Av. Athos da Silveira Ramos, 149

Centro Tecnológico Bl. C – Ilha do Fundão

P. O. Box 68530 CEP: 21941-909

Rio de Janeiro, RJ Brasil

Ph: +55 21 3938 7512 ext 241 +55 21 98694 1212 (mobile)

E-mail: <u>hlopes@im.ufrj.br</u> <u>aggahju@gmail.com</u>

URL: http://www2.im.ufrj.br/hlopes

Nationalities: Brazilian and French

Research interests: Partial differential equations and fluid dynamics

Education

PhD in Mathematics, U.C. Berkeley, 1991

Advisors: Ronald J. DiPerna (in memoriam) and Lawrence Craig Evans.

Employment

With tenure

June 1992 – April 2012: Universidade Estadual de Campinas (tenured 1996, full professor from 2008)

April 2012 – : Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro (full professor)

Visiting positions

August 1991 to May 1992 – University of Kentucky (visiting assistant professor)

January to December, 1997 – Indiana University, Bloomington (visiting assistant professor)

August 2003 – May 2004 – Penn State University (visiting scholar)

August 2011 – January 2012 – University of California Riverside (visiting scholar)

January 2017 – June 2017 – Brown University (Distinguished Visiting Professor of Mathematics)

February 2022 – June 2022 – The Isaac Newton Institute for Mathematical Sciences (Long-term program participant and Simons Fellow)

Honors and Awards

Invited/plenary speaker at several conferences since 2005, including IPAM-UCLA, IMA-UMN, ICMS-Edinburgh, ICERM-Brown.

Undergraduate Science Projects – Advisor; Silver Medal, 2006; Bronze Medal, 2010 Admitted to National Order of Merit in Science and Technology, Class

"Comendador", Brazil, 2010

SIAM Fellow, Class of 2016

Invited Speaker, Section 10 – PDE, International Congress of Mathematicians–ICM 2018 (International Mathematical Union)

Member of the Brazilian Academy of Sciences (ABC), Class of 2019.

AMS Fellow, Class of 2020

TWAS Award in Mathematics, 2022 https://twas.org/node/15085.

TWAS Fellow, Class of 2023

Current Funding (Scientific Projects)

Scientist of Our State Grant, Rio de Janeiro, FAPERJ – principal investigator, 2021-2024 Scientific Productivity Grant, CNPq, currently level 1-B, 2023 – 2027 (levels in increased hierarchy: 2, 1-D, 1-C, 1-B and 1-A)

Service and Administration

- Undergraduate vice-chair, Department of Mathematics, UNICAMP, 2000 2002.
- Organizing committee, CSCAMM program "Analytical and Computational Challenges of Incompressible Flows at High Reynolds Number", Univ. of Maryland, 2004.
- Co-organizer, IRES, International Research Experience for Students UNICAMP, 2006.
- Founder and Co-organizer, I, II, III, IV and V Workshop on Fluids and PDE, (UNICAMP, 2007 and 2011, UFRJ 2008, IMPA 2014, UNICAMP *Online* 2021).
- Scientific Committee IV Journeys in Undergraduate Research, IMPA, 2008.
- Scientific Committee 12th, 13th, 14th, 17th Congress on Hyperbolic Problems, Theory, Numerics and Applications, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2018.
- Scientific Committee 2010 Colloque Franco-Roumain des Mathematiques Appliquees, Poitiers, 2010.
- Co-organizer 1st and 2nd Franco-Brazilian Schools in Fluid Dynamics, Campinas (1st) and Lyon (2nd), 2010.
- Co-organizer V and VI Journeys in Undergraduate Research, IMPA, 2010 and 2012.
- Coordinator, Thematic Program on Incompressible Fluid Dynamics, IMPA, March-June 2014; co-organizer, School Around Vortices, in conjunction with the thematic program.
- Member of the National Advisory Committee for Mathematics CNPq, 2007-2010.
- Coordinator, Mathematics Advisory Committee, FAPESP, 2007-2011.
- Second Vice-President, Brazilian Society on Applied and Computational Mathematics, 2012-2013.
- Council member, Brazilian Society on Applied and Computational Mathematics, 2015-2017.
- Representative of the Brazilian Society on Applied and Computational Mathematics on the board of ICIAM 2011-2015.

- Scientific Committee SIAM Conference on Analysis of PDE 2013
- SIAM Activity Group on Analysis of PDE 2013 Prize Selection Committee.
- Member, Scientific Council of CIMPA Centre Internationale de Mathématiques Pure et Appliquée, 2013–2020.
- Chair, selection committee, Olga Taussky-Todd Lecture Committee, ICIAM 2015.
- Chair, SIAM Activity Group on Analysis of PDE 2015-2016.
- Chair, Department of Mathematics, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, 2014-2016.
- Member, Organizing Committee, ICERM Semester Program on "Singularities and Waves In Incompressible Fluids", Spring 2017; ICERM (Brown University).
- Member, Selection Committee SIAM Fellows, 2017-2018.
- Member, SIAM Committee on Section Activities, 2019-2021, reappointed 2021-2024.
- Member, Fellows Canvassing Committee, 2020-2022.
- Member, W.T. and Idalia Reid Prize Selection Committee, 2021 2025.
- Chair, Organizing Committee SIAM PDE webinar series, 2020 2022.

Editorial service

- Associate Editor, SIAM J. Math. Analysis 2007–2016
- Editor-in-Chief, Brazilian Math Society Publishing Co., 2008-2010
- Advisory Editor, Mathematical Methods in the Applied Sciences 2012–2016
- Member, Editoral Board, SN Partial Differential Equations and Applications, 2019 –
- Member, Editorial Board, Bulletin of the Brazilian Mathematical Society, 2019 –
- Associate Editor, SIAM J. Math. Analysis 2021 –
- Managing Editor, Orbita Mathematicae 2022 –

Publications

65 peer-reviewed articles in international journals

Students

PhD

Rafael Castro Triana (2000), Lucas Catão de Freitas Ferreira (2005), Juliana Conceição Precioso (2005), Josiane Cristina de Oliveira Faria (2008), Anne Caroline Bronzi (2010), Luiz Alberto Viana da Silva (2012), Débora Francisco Albanez (2014), Maicon José Benvenutti (2014), Brayan Maurício Rodriguez Garzón (current) Dennis Leonardo Becerra Hernandez (current) David Paternina Salgado (current).

Masters

Gilberlândio Jesus Dias (2002) Pedro Goulart Motta (*current*)

Undergraduate Research

Alexandre de Andrade (1994, 1995) Gil Ramos Cavalcanti (1996) Darli Augusto de Arruda Mello (1996) Alexandre Stehlick Marcondes Noronha Tomei (2010)

Post-docs

Gabriela del Valle Planas (2002), Fábio Vitoriano e Silva (2006), Dongjuan Niu (2009), Huy-Hoang Nguyen (2010), Eleonora Pinto de Moura (2010), Aibin Zang (2013), Jitao Liu (2014).