the world academy of sciences for the advancement of science in developing countries


TWAS Prizes
Each year the Academy awards nine prizes of USD 15,000 each to individual scientists who have been working and living in a developing country for at least 10 years.
31 March 2017
Partner Organizations
Eligible Nominees
All developing countries
Agricultural Sciences, Biology, Chemistry, Earth, Astronomy and Space Sciences, Engineering Sciences, Mathematics, Medical Sciences, Physics and Social Sciences*
Age limit

The TWAS Prizes are awarded to individual scientists from developing countries in recognition of an outstanding contribution to scientific knowledge in nine fields of sciences and/or to the application of science and technology to sustainable development.


  • Every year, TWAS awards nine prizes of USD15,000 each in the following fields: agricultural sciences, biology, chemistry, earth, astronomy and space sciences, engineering sciences, mathematics, medical sciences, physics and social sciences.
  • Each prize is accompanied by a medal.
  • Prizes are usually presented on a special occasion, often coinciding with the General Meeting of TWAS.


  • Candidates for a TWAS Prize must be scientists who have been working and living in a developing country for at least ten years immediately prior to their nomination. They must meet at least one of the following qualifications:
    • Scientific research achievement of outstanding significance for the development of scientific thought.
    • Outstanding contribution to the application of science and technology to sustainable development.
  • Members of TWAS and candidates for TWAS membership are not eligible for TWAS Prizes.
  • Self-nominations will not be considered.


  • TWAS is inviting nominations from all its members as well as science academies, national research councils, universities and scientific institutions in developing and developed countries.
  • Nominations must be made on the nomination form and clearly state the contribution the candidate has made to the development of the particular field of science for which the prize would be awarded.
  • The nominee's CV and her/his complete list of publications are also required.
  • Nominations of women scientists and scientists from scientifically lagging countries are particularly encouraged.
  • Nominations for the 2016 prizes must be submitted to the address shown below.
  • The re-nomination of a previously declined candidate shall be accepted only if it bears substantially new elements for judgment.


Selection of the awardees is made on scientific merit and on the recommendations of the selection committees composed of TWAS members. The names of the winners will be announced on the first day of the TWAS 28th General Meeting.

How to nominate a scientist

TWAS 2017 Prizes nominations can now be submitted online by clicking on the “Apply Now” link at the bottom of this page.

The deadline for receiving nominations is 31 March, however we strongly recommend that you do not wait until the deadline but submit the nomination as early as you can to enable us to process it as quickly as possible.


Inquiries and completed nomination forms should be addressed to:

TWAS Prizes
ICTP Campus, Strada Costiera 11
I-34151 Trieste, Italy
Phone: +39 040 2240 387
Fax: +39 040 2240 7387


* Excluding Economic Sciences, please refer to the newly established TWAS-Siwei Cheng Prize in Economic Sciences.

Note The "TWAS Prizes" evolved from two pre-existing award schemes: TWAS Awards in Basic Sciences, instituted in 1985, to recognize and support outstanding achievements made by scientists from developing countries in biology, chemistry, mathematics and physics, and TWNSO Prizes in Applied Sciences, awarded since 1990 by the Third World Network of Scientific Organizations, in the fields of agriculture and technology. List of recipients 1985–.

Contact email: 
This website does not use profiling cookies, but only first and third party technical cookies, including cookies from social media plugins.
To learn more about our cookie policy or to change your cookie settings, click here.
By using this website and clicking “accept”, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.