Press room

Giovanni Ortolani
Public Information Officer
Via Beirut, 6
Enrico Fermi Building, Room 112
Office: +39 040 2240-324

Cristina Serra
Staff writer
Via Beirut, 6
Enrico Fermi Building, Room 113
Phone: +39 040 2240-429
Mobile: +39 338 430-5210

Sean Treacy
Staff Writer
Via Beirut, 6
Enrico Fermi Building, Room T8/2
Office: +39 040 2240-538

General contact:

TWAS Newsletter
The Academy's quarterly magazine. Download PDF files of individual…

Academy announces four TWAS Medallists

Academy announces four TWAS Medallists

Scientists will deliver prestigious Medal Lecturers at next TWAS General Conference

The TWAS Council has announced its four TWAS Medallists for 2024. These medals celebrate excellence in research and contributions to developing world science. Medallists traditionally deliver TWAS Medal Lectures at a TWAS General Conference. 

In 2022, a Medal was awarded to a TWAS Young Affiliate Alumni for the first time, with the requirement that they must be active in the TWAS Young Affiliate Network (TYAN). For 2024, the Academy has introduced another new Medal, given to a scientist for their contribution to lessening inequalities in the global South.

Four 2023 TWAS Medallists.
TWAS Medallists, clockwise from top right: Akiça Bahri of Tunisia, Anton Zeilinger of Austria, Shirley Malcom of the United States, and Li Yin of China.

The 2024 medallists are:

  • TWAS Fellow from the South, recognized for scientific achievements: Akiça Bahri of Tunisia
  • TWAS Fellow from the North, recognized for scientific achievements: Anton Zeilinger of Austria (Nobel Laureate)
  • TWAS Young Affiliate Alumnus, recognized for scientific achievements: Li Yin of China
  • Recognized for contributions to issues of inequalities in developing countries: Shirley Malcom of the United States

One more medallist announcement is anticipated, who will be from the country hosting the TWAS General Conference, which also has yet to be announced.