Press room

Giovanni Ortolani
Public Information Officer
Via Beirut, 6
Enrico Fermi Building, Room 112
Office: +39 040 2240-324

Cristina Serra
Staff writer
Via Beirut, 6
Enrico Fermi Building, Room 113
Phone: +39 040 2240-429
Mobile: +39 338 430-5210

Sean Treacy
Staff Writer
Via Beirut, 6
Enrico Fermi Building, Room T8/2
Office: +39 040 2240-538

General contact:

TWAS Newsletter
The Academy's quarterly magazine. Download PDF files of individual…

Call opens for three TWAS awards

Call opens for three TWAS awards

TWAS, with the support of its Fellows, offers three prizes that reward women scientists and scientists from Science and Technology Lagging Countries whose research has an impact in their communities.

TWAS has opened calls for nominations for three awards that are aimed at outstanding women researchers and scientists from Africa and Science and Technology Lagging Countries.

The prizes are:

* TWAS-Abdool Karim Prize in Biological Sciences for women scientists in low-income African countries pursuing research in Biological Sciences;

* TWAS-Fayzah M. Al-Kharafi Prize for women scientists from STLCs, for achievements in Social Sciences;

* TWAS-Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Prize for women scientists (in 2019) in LDCs.

The calls are open, with a deadline for online nominations set for 31 July 2019.


More about the Prizes

The TWAS-Abdool Karim Prize is named for epidemiologist Quarraisha Abdool Karim, a TWAS Fellow and associate scientific director of the Centre for the AIDS Programme of Research in South Africa (CAPRISA). Her discoveries have shaped life-saving clinical guidelines for patients infected with a combination of HIV and tuberculosis in countries across the world.

The TWAS-Al-Kharafi Prize covers various fields of science. It is named after chemist and TWAS Fellow Fayzah M.A. Al-Kharafi, the former president of Kuwait University (1993-2002) and an expert in corrosion chemistry. She has been widely honoured for her work and influence, and in 2011 she received the L'Oréal-UNESCO Prize for Women in Science for her work on corrosion.

The annual TWAS-Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Prize provided by TWAS Fellow Samira Omar Asem of Kuwait, an influential environmental researcher and a former TWAS treasurer. Omar is director general and principal research scientist at the Kuwait Institute for Scientific Research (KISR), with over 40 years of experience in research and development.