Press room

Giovanni Ortolani
Public Information Officer
Via Beirut, 6
Enrico Fermi Building, Room 112
Office: +39 040 2240-324

Cristina Serra
Staff writer
Via Beirut, 6
Enrico Fermi Building, Room 113
Phone: +39 040 2240-429
Mobile: +39 338 430-5210

Sean Treacy
Staff Writer
Via Beirut, 6
Enrico Fermi Building, Room T8/2
Office: +39 040 2240-538

General contact:

TWAS Newsletter
The Academy's quarterly magazine. Download PDF files of individual…

Winners of 2016 TWAS Prizes announced

Winners of 2016 TWAS Prizes announced

TWAS has announced the winners of the TWAS Prizes for 2016 at the Academy's 27th General Meeting in Kigali, Rwanda.

TWAS Prizes are awarded in nine fields: Agricultural Sciences, Biology, Chemistry, Earth Sciences, Engineering Sciences, Mathematics, Medical Sciences, Physics, and Social Sciences (called the TWAS-Celso Furtado Prize). This year, there are 10 prize winners: two from Brazil; one from Chile; two from China; two from India; one from Mexico; one from Pakistan and one from Turkey. The prize winners include one woman.

Each TWAS Prize carries a cash award of USD15,000. The winners will lecture about their research at TWAS's 28th General Meeting in 2017, when they will also receive a plaque and the prize money.

Agricultural Sciences

  • Ismail CAKMAK of Turkey, for his incisive work on cereal biofortification and stress-mitigating effects of zinc in crop plants.

Biology  (Shared)

  • Amitabha CHATTOPADHYAY of India for his seminal contribution in understanding the role of membrane cholesterol in the organization and function in healthy and diseased conditions.
  • ZHOU Qi of China for his outstanding contributions to the understanding of stem cell pluripotency regulation and to both basic research and translational application of stem cells.


  • ZHAO Yuliang of China for his pioneering work on nanosafety analysis and nanomedical chemistry leading to new-concept cancer nanomedicine.

Earth, Astronomy and Space Sciences

  • Mario HAMUY of Chile for his essential work on Type Ia supernovae, leading to the calibration of its luminosities and the discovery of cosmic acceleration.    

Engineering Sciences

  • Carlos Artemio COELLO COELLO of Mexico for his pioneering contributions to the development of new algorithms based on bio-inspired metaheuristics for solving single- and multi-objective optimization problems  


  • Lorenzo Justiniano DÍAZ CASADO of Brazil for his fundamental contributions to the theory of Dynamical Systems.  

Medical Sciences

  • Zulfiqar Ahmed BHUTTA of Pakistan for his incisive work on academic pediatrics and public health in Pakistan, which has contributed to shape global child health & policy. 


  • Shiraz MINWALLA of India for his seminal and influential contributions to theoretical physics and the discovery of new terms in the equations of charged relativistic hydrodynamics

Social Sciences

  • Marilda SOTOMAYOR of Brazil for her extraordinary contribution and innovative research in the field of matching markets