the world academy of sciences for the advancement of science in developing countries


TWAS─Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Prize
This annual prize, named after the TWAS Fellow Samira Omar, will recognize scientists from Least Developed Countries (LDCs). It carries a cash award of USD4,000 generously provided by Professor Omar. The prize will honour scientists working in an area relevant to sustainability.
13 August 2018
Partner Organizations
Eligible Nominees from
Age limit

Our planet, and therefore our existence, faces several challenges: world population, food security, climate change, biodiversity loss, water scarcity/poor sanitation, energy resources. Sustainability involves considering the relationship between the finite resources of the planet and the way of life adopted by humans: in what way can our existence be maintained and at what level?

Sustainability is at the forefront of many discussions at the international scene. The 17 Sustainable Development Goals released by the UN in 2015 as part of the 2030 Agenda underlie that we must become aware of the fact that we are compromising the future of generations to come. The SDGs may well represent the best attempt at addressing sustainability issues at a global scale.

The “Innovation for Sustainability” Prize will reward scientists for their contribution in an area, albeit multidisciplinary, directly relevant to the science of sustainability.

The 2018 prize will be awarded to a scientist national of a LDC, living and working in a LDC during the last two years immediately prior to his/her nomination, based on scientific achievements in any of the thematic areas below:

- Clean and renewable energy

- Green chemistry

- Sustainable agriculture and agrobiodiversity

- Plastic: degradation, pollution and microplastics

- Water purification and sanitation

- Climate change: environmental effects, methane contribution, carbon capture

- Transportation technologies: efficiency for smart cities

- Waste management

- Biodiversity: the sixth mass extinction, ecosystem services, habitat recovery and restoration

- Ecological economics and planetary health

Previous winner of the TWAS - Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Prize

2018 – Hazir Farouk Abdelraheem Elhaj from Sudan for her distinguished contribution to national planning, professional training and practical implementation of modern bioenergy technologies in Sudan

2017 – Caroline Asiimwe, Uganda - Thematic area: Conservation and management of natural resources

Application doc(s): 
File twas-samiraomarprize_2018.docx28.31 KB
Contact email: 
This website does not use profiling cookies, but only first and third party technical cookies, including cookies from social media plugins.
To learn more about our cookie policy or to change your cookie settings, click here.
By using this website and clicking “accept”, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.