30 May 2011

Call for nominations: 2011 Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize

The deadline for nominations to the 2011 Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize is 20 July 2011. Nominations should be sent to

Call for nominations: 2011 Ernesto Illy Trieste Science PrizeThe Ernesto Illy Trieste Science Prize, one of the most prestigious honours given to scientists from the developing world, is open for nominations. This year's prize is in the field of materials science. The winner will receive USD100,000. The prize, which is a collaborative initiative between TWAS and illycaffè, is designed to bring international recognition to eminent scientists in the developing world.

Previous prize winners include:

2010 in renewable energies for environmentally sustainable technologies in developing countries

2009 in climate change and its impact on agriculture in developing countries

2008 in earth, space, ocean and atmospheric sciences and engineering

  • Beatriz Barbuy, professor at the Institute of Astronomy, Geophysics and Atmospheric Sciences at the University of São Paulo (IAG/USP), Brazil, and vice-president of the International Astronomical Union (IAU).

2007 in chemical sciences and agricultural sciences

  • Goverdhan Mehta, CSIR Bhatnagar fellow and honorary professor at the Department of Organic Chemistry at the Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore, and distinguished research professor at the University of Hyderabad, India.

2006 in medical sciences and mathematics

2005 in biological sciences and physics and astrophysics

This website does not use profiling cookies, but only first and third party technical cookies, including cookies from social media plugins.
To learn more about our cookie policy or to change your cookie settings, click here.
By using this website and clicking “accept”, you consent to the use of cookies in accordance with our cookie policy.