Biological Weapons Convention

The Biological Weapons Convention (BWC) effectively prohibits the development, production, acquisition, transfer, stockpiling and use of biological and toxin weapons. It was the first multilateral disarmament treaty banning an entire category of weapons of mass destruction (WMD).

The BWC is a key element in the international community’s efforts to address WMD proliferation and it has established a strong norm against biological weapons. The Convention has reached almost universal membership with 185 States Parties and four Signatory States.

Chergui, Majed

Last updated on 12/07/2023

Sayed, Ali H.

Last updated on 12/07/2023

Zichichi, Antonino

Last updated on 12/07/2023